DIY Vintage Inspired Ephemera

Tonight’s project is DIY vintage-inspired ephemera.

Since I have very little vintagey things to add to my art journals, I thought I’d make some of my own.

Here is a piece of poster board.  I gessoed it first, then used some paints on it.  I began with burnt sienna, then went to yellow ochre.  Then I added water to it and washed the final third with that.  So it is a variegation of the colors from darkest to lightest.  After that dried I washed it with watered down metallic gold paint.

Then I found stamps which felt “vintagey” to me… I stamped several of each on the poster board.  Once the ink was dry I painted some of the images with craft paints.  I used a fuschia pink, but toned it down with a dark brown and ivory.  This gives the paint a muted, old feeling.  Craft paints can be alarmingly bright sometimes and this works well to knock out the circus-color feeling.  I painted the roses with this color, shading and adding highlights where needed.

Using the brown and ivory to mute the colors, I painted flowers with reds and oranges, and the leaves with two shades of green.  Once the images were painted I used metallic paint to highlight where I wanted highlights.  I didn’t paint all the stamped images as I’m not sure exactly how I will be using them.  I do know I’m working on an art journal with pinks and greens in it.

IMG_1127 (2)

painted images

Now that the images are dry, I can cut them out.  Make them into tags, pockets, embellishments, etc.  This was a simple way to make several vintage-inspired images from a piece of scrap poster board and a little bit of paint.

 

This entry was posted in Daily Art, DIY, Frugal Ideas, Make Your Own Supplies, Recyclable items, Stash Busters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIY Vintage Inspired Ephemera

  1. looks like you had fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

