One Color Background

IMG_1024 (2)

Brown/Sepia-one color, multiple art materials

Today’s background pages.  Here’s how:

I began by gessoing the pages, which I do on nearly all my art journal pages.  Then I pulled the modeling paste card.  Used that with a stencil.  Then added music pages.  The next card was interesting.  Use one color with three different materials.  I picked a brown/sepia color.  I used an Inktense block, a Lyra water-soluble crayon, and a Graphitint pencil.

My next card was acrylic paint.  I used chocolate brown metallic (which was the same as the other media colors) and highlighted the texture paste areas.  I aged the whole page with a wash of burnt umber.

IMG_1025

The photo doesn’t look nearly as cool as the actual page.  The use of one color on the page really looks great.  I will probably add a quote or title and call this one done.  Give a one color background a try and see what you think.

This entry was posted in Daily Art, DIY, Frugal Ideas, Make Your Own Supplies, Recyclable items, Stash Busters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Color Background

  1. Love all that texture!

    Like

Leave a Reply

