Today’s Artistic Adventure

begins with organization of my stamps.  Most of the stamps I have were given to me or purchased as second hand stores.  I made several stamps from kneeling pads (from Dollar Tree) and fun foam scraps.  The alphabet sets were purchased for a buck from Michael’s, Walmart or Meijers.  Most of the ink pads were purchased at a local dollar store.

Now, the reason I did this is because I have been making art journal pages like crazy.  I have used stamps often, but I found I really could use some more.  Circles, ovals, squares, swirls, text, sentiments, etc.  These are often used, commonly found, basic materials for art journaling.  They are extremely versatile and seem to make their way onto most art journal pages.  And before I purchased any, I wanted to know exactly what I had already.

Another area I am seriously lacking is in embellishments.  Chipboard pieces, stickers, tags, die cuts, etc.  After taking stock of my situation, I checked on the sales at both Hobby Lobby and Micheal’s.  I began at Hobby Lobby and blew my entire allotted amount of money there.  In fact, I had pulled way to many things-the Tim Holtz stuff was 30% off and I grabbed a bunch of stuff and put most of it back.  Here’s what I found:

The wood mounted stamps were all less than a dollar a piece.  Originally they were from 6.99 to 11.99 a piece.  I bought the wood oval and circle shapes to make my own stamps from them.  Everything I bought was on my list except the two tablets of newsprint and the Pitt Brush Markers-both hugely discounted.  The markers were more than half off, and the paper was way cheap too.  The reason I grabbed the markers is because Vicky uses them in all her art journal layouts and loves them.  I thought with them being so inexpensive, why not give them a try.  I bought only the colors I knew I would use.

I was stunned to see the cost for the commonly used things like Tim Holtz distress inks and sprays, clear stamp sets and embellishments. Wow!  I saw a package of 4 paper flowers for 6.99.  Clear stamp sets for 14.99, each Tim Holtz ink pad was 5.99.  I am determined to make my own supplies which will duplicate as much of what I saw as possible.

The one thing I really wanted but could not find was the Tim Holtz Idea-Ology Tissue Wrap.  I did not see it anywhere at Hobby Lobby and just looked it up to include the link.  Apparently it’s at JoAnn’s.  I have never seen the stuff in person and wanted to know exactly what it feels like.  My guess is it is similar to parchment paper.  This is what I intend to use to make my own, in addition to the tissue papers.  I also plan to make many flower embellishments with paper.

IMG_0944

Three pieces of parchment paper stamped with new stamps and homemade background stamps

Easy to make “Tim Holtz” style tissue wrap.  Made from Dollar Tree parchment paper.

This entry was posted in Daily Art, DIY, Frugal Ideas, Make Your Own Supplies, Product Reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today’s Artistic Adventure

  1. Pingback: Two More Interesting Backgrounds | purplewhimsie

Leave a Reply

