Another Option

IMG_0922 (2)

for Artist Trading Cards:

Old decks of playing cards.

They are the exact size needed, everybody has a deck missing some cards which they could use for ATC’s.  Here’s what I did:

I sanded the cards, on both sides.  Then I used a damp tack cloth and wiped the dust off.  (You might want to sand them outside, it does get kind of messy and you probably don’t want to breathe in the dust.)  After that I put a thin coat of gesso on the number side of the card.  After the gesso dried I smeared the number side of the card with my watered-down Aleene’s Tacky Glue.  Then I placed a piece of parchment paper over that and smoothed it with my old gift card.  I trimmed the edges to fit the card.  I used stamps, sprays, stencils and acrylic paints to make my backgrounds.

These are now ready for making into ATC’s.

The parchment paper came from Dollar Tree, the Aleene’s Tacky Glue could be exchanged for school glue or Mod Podge.  The stamps are DIY, the sprays are DIY, the shimmer is DIY, the stencils are DIY.

All in all, a really cheap way to make some art.

 

This entry was posted in Daily Art, DIY, Frugal Ideas, Make Your Own Supplies, Recyclable items, Stash Busters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Option

  1. Pingback: DIY Stash Building, Part 3 | purplewhimsie

Leave a Reply

