Art Journal Covers

 

Here is my latest art journal fun.  This is a journal I purchased from Goodwill, already covered with paper collage.  I just went right over it with what I wanted to do.

Since I wanted some gear accents on the covers, I cut what I wanted from recycled chipboard packaging.  I used my stencils and drew the shapes I wanted then cut them out with both a scissors and and a craft knife.  This didn’t actually take very long.  Although I have hand and arm challenges I was able to cut these out fairly easily.

I have no idea how much chipboard die cuts cost, because I don’t have any.  But when I considered my options for this project I thought about more than just the cost.  So often we don’t consider our time as having value.  It would have taken at least an hour and a half to accomplish the errand.  That’s time I could be making things, which is how I prefer to spend my day.  Here’s a few great songs to cut chipboard by:

Black Dog

Purple Rain

While My Guitar Gently Weeps

Nothing Compares 2 U

Next I added my paper to the exterior of the journal.  I used my own mix of Aleene’s Tacky Glue and distilled water.  I used the blow dryer to dry after each step. I grunged up the outer edges with both black and brown acrylic craft paint.  Used stencils and homemade modeling paste.  I attached the chipboard to the cover with non-watered down Aleene’s Tacky Glue.  I added lace.  Once all the flat elements were in place I painted them.

I dry brushed over all of it with the metallic paints I purchased last week.  The colors are Peridot, Regal Red, Chocolate Brown, and Antique Gold.  I avoided the lace.  I should have added that later in the process.

I used a stencil to cut out the letters from the chipboard packaging, then attached them to scraps of foam core. I painted the edges with black and the top the metallic Peridot.  I put the flower pieces together and painted them gold.  I found the two butterflies in my stash and dry brushed them with Regal Red.  I liked it, so I added red to the flowers and the letters.

Easy peasy way to decorate the covers of an art journal.  In my case an already decorated cover.  You wouldn’t know there was a picture of a ladies leg and foot wearing a really high heeled shoe on there would you?

 

 

This entry was posted in Art, Daily Art, DIY, Free Stuff, Frugal Ideas, Make Your Own Supplies, Recyclable items, Stash Busters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Art Journal Covers

  1. Pingback: Break the Blank Page | purplewhimsie

Leave a Reply

