Curious.

I was looking around the internet for some inspiration for my DIY art journal decorating.  I found something interesting and very curious.

This lady, Kathy Orta King, came up with a way to fold and tape paper.  She calls it the hidden hinge binding system.  It’s a handy way to attach your pages without them being one right on top of the other.  You can leave a space between them so when you add embellishments which are bulky, you can still close the album.  It’s a series of mountains and valleys with a flat space between the mountains for the valley part.

Yesterday I linked a video to a mountain and valley art journal tutorial.  I have made several of these before yesterday, but with a bit of a difference.  The mountain and valley art journals I made were larger in size and the mountain/valley parts were made from folded card stock, not manila file folders-so there is a difference.  But the actual folding of the materials was the same in those earlier art journals and the ones I made yesterday.

And no one showed me how to fold the paper.  I just did it and it worked for my project.

I noticed on one of the videos there was this:  Patent Pending.

How is that possible?  The hidden hinge binding system is folding paper and tape.

This seems similar to sewing patents or copyrights.  You cannot patent or copyright a sewing technique.  The combining of pieces of fabric together, a dart, hem, pleat, etc.  You can copyright a pattern.  The way the garment is actually designed-where the sleeves go, where to put in the zipper, etc.

Maybe that’s what she’s trying to get a patent to-the way the folds line up?  Could those mountains and valleys be a pattern?  Because you can copyright patterns.

I don’t know, and I’m no lawyer, but I found this very interesting.

And I’m not saying anything against the hidden hinge binding system.  It’s a great idea and I’m sure Ms Orta-King is a lovely woman and I wish her all the best in everything she does.  Success, success, success!

I was just curious about the ability to patent a technique in art.

This entry was posted in Art, Daily Art, Make Your Own Supplies, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

