DIY Mosaic Tiles

Warning:  Do This At Your Own Risk.  I do not encourage the heating of acrylic paints nor do I recommend melting CD’s.  I am simply offering an interesting DIY, but doing it is entirely up to you.  Proceed at your own risk.  I am not responsible for your choices, your health, your house burning down, your problems with your family or your neighbors, the high cost of living, your inability to stand on your head or Donald Trump being elected as President of the United States.

Let’s continue.

Here is today’s daily art effort.  A DIY that ROCKS!

How many of us remember my DIY enamel dot fiasco? Well, I expected this DIY adventure to have the same potential for disaster.  Fortunately, it went very well with outstanding results.

Melted CD Mosaic Tiles is something I found from a delightful you-tuber, Pink Poodle Crafts.  She is absolutely charming and I enjoy her videos.  In fact, she is where I found the clear gesso recipe I use…Anyway, on to my new favorite thing:  Melted CD mosaic tiles.

You will need:

Old CD’s

Acrylic paint-I prefer the metallics

Duct tape (or the cheap Dollar Tree equivalent)

Grid paper (optional)

Black marker (if you’re using the grid or want to draw a shape)

Tinfoil (or cheap aluminum baking sheets from the Dollar Tree)

Here’s how this goes:  With your scissors, scratch the surface of the CD on the label side.  If you are using the cheap CD’s you can buy in packages of 500 or whatever, those work best for easy label removal.  Others may have heavier labels.

Once you scratch the surface of the label, take your cheap duct tape and lay it over the scratched part.  Pull upward.  It will take the label with it.  Use the entire piece of tape to remove as much of the label as possible.  (You can save the tape with the label stuff stuck to it for die cutting embellishments or letters for your art journal pages.)  When the CD is cleared of the label, wipe with rubbing alcohol to remove residue.

I laid my clear CD’s on grid paper and cut them out that way.  They were quite uniform in size and easy to match up.  You need two pieces of the CD to make one tile.

Lay out your tiles.  I matched mine up before I began painting them.  I used metallic paints as well as the regular craft paints, and painted one of the tiles.  I pressed the other piece on top.  I did this right on the aluminum baking sheet (which I bought at Dollar Tree) I would use to bake them in the oven.  I continued this way until all pieces were matched up.

Once I finished painting the tiles and placing the tops on them, I went to the kitchen and turned the oven to BROIL.  Once heated, I put the pan of CD pieces inside and let them bake for about 6 to 8 minutes.  You oven may vary in temperature.  I checked them every two minutes to see how they were melting.  You want the sides to adhere together.  A couple of mine did not melt completely and came apart.  I also used to much paint within the tiles and it oozed out the sides and got under the tiles as they baked.

What I noticed is the cookie sheet I used had bumps on it and this showed up on the underside of the tiles.  Way cool.  If the paint hadn’t oozed these would have been spectacular and textural.  As it is, they are still really cool and can be used as embellishments on pages and made into buttons or beads for art journals.  Even the one that came apart can be used as embellishments on pages.

You can make holes in the tiles and use as jewelry.  I have several cut which I will try to make into pendants by placing a metal bale put between the two pieces.  When they melt together the bale should be embedded in the pendant for easy attachment to a chain.   I am also wondering about using something like a watercolor painting laid between the two pieces of CD.  That could make some really cool embellishments and jewelry pieces too.  Or old book pages.  Or wrapping paper…

Honestly, the possibilities are endless.

Would it be possible to make a sculpture with the CD pieces?  Pile several and let them melt together…

I guess there is a possibility of bubbles when doing this, but I didn’t have any bubbles in my tiles.  In fact, I have no idea how you would create bubbles.

These are some of the most beautiful things I have ever made.  Honestly.  I find them endlessly fascinating.  The metallic paint combined with the plain craft paints really made for some interesting combinations.  In the future, I think I’ll stick with only three colors per tile.  There seems to be a loss of the distinction of colors when I had more than three…

Pink Poodle suggested adding them to the outside of an art journal-just covering the whole thing with tiles.  Which would be cool and also fairly lightweight.  These tiles weigh next to nothing.

If you have hand problems, arm problems, arthritis or any other issue with your hands-cutting these CD’s will hurt you.  I was only able to cut two CD’s before I had to quit.  My hands and arms simply cannot produce the force needed to cut these things for any length of time.  I actually had my son cut a couple more CD’s for me, using a large tin snips, rather than a scissors-which is what I used.  He had no problem cutting them at all.  Of course he’s 21 with arms like steel.  This might have something to do with it.

All I know is this is an addicting DIY.  If you love this-and I know you will-you might want to cut several to give yourself enough tiles to have fun with.  I made 27 tiles from two CD’s.  I have a box of old CD’s-probably 500 or so-and will be able to experiment with some stuff.  I’ll let you know how my experiments turn out.  You can make the tiles in any shape you wish-just make sure the two pieces are pretty close to the same for lining up with each other.

While baking the tiles I had the fan on full blast and the windows open (remembering the last time I tried an oven-baked DIY…)

Have fun with this, should you choose to do it.  If you are reluctant, that’s fine too.  I’ll take one for the team.

This entry was posted in Daily Art, DIY, Frugal Ideas, Make Your Own Supplies, Recyclable items, Stash Busters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY Mosaic Tiles

  1. Joan cotton says:

    Hi, thanks for the good instructions! I’m sorry I didn’t see your other publishing of the oven Fiasco. I just wanted to comment that I put pictures inside of my tiles. I went to the copy store and used regular paper to copy my photos and cut heads out. They are kind of cute. My other tiles we’re splitting apart and lots of bubbles. Maybe because I’ve been using alcohol ink. Any thoughts? Thanks, joan

    Like

    • Hi Joan. I believe the problem with mine splitting apart was the paint I used to make them. The ones that split apart and bubbled were in to long and I used metallic fingernail polish on those.
      The ones I made first with craft paints didn’t split apart. I watched them closely, checking every minute or so. The ones that bubbled and split, I put in for four minutes and did not check them until the timer went. I also used tinfoil on a thick cookie sheet with the ones that split.
      I used a cheap aluminum cookie sheet from Dollar Tree-the disposable kind without tinfoil-with the ones that did not split.

      Like

Leave a Reply

