DIY Modeling Paste and Clive5Art

I just realized where the elephant came from originally.  I was searching for my recipe for DIY modeling paste and found Clive’s recipe-which is the one I used, for the most part.

Here is the recipe I use for modeling paste, based on Clive’s recipe for his:

1/2- 3/4 cup calcium carbonate

gesso

PVA glue

talcum powder

Begin by putting the dry ingredients in your container first.  I start with 1/2 cup of calcium carbonate, add 2 Tablespoons of PVA glue and stir really well.  Get the lumps out of this mixture.  When lump free, add 1/4 cup of gesso.  Stir.

And stir.

If thickening is needed, I added talcum powder to the mix for that purpose because I like the smell.  My tummy is very sensitive to smells and powder doesn’t bother me.  You can thicken your mixture by adding more calcium carbonate rather than adding the talcum powder.

You want the modeling paste to be the consistency of thick frosting.  You want stiff peaks to form when you pull out the stir stick.  If your mixture gets to thick add a touch of distilled water to thin it a bit.

The picture Clive was using in his video is of an elephant.  I used a reference photo from paint my photo to work on the elephant today, not realizing where the original idea came from.  I really enjoy Clive.  Please check out his channel.

My modeling paste is labeled 12/23/15.  It is still perfectly good.  I’ve kept it in a tightly sealed recycled glass jar.

This entry was posted in Challenge, DIY, Frugal Ideas, Make Your Own Supplies, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DIY Modeling Paste and Clive5Art

  1. Pingback: Daily Art- Art Journaling | purplewhimsie

  2. Pingback: Daily Art and How to Correct Mistakes | purplewhimsie

  3. Pingback: DIY Metallic Rub-On’s Work Great! | purplewhimsie

  4. Pingback: My Top 10 Essentials | purplewhimsie

  5. Pingback: Two More Interesting Backgrounds | purplewhimsie

  6. Pingback: DIY Texture Tool | purplewhimsie

Leave a Reply

