Late Last Night

IMG_0413 (2)

I followed this tutorial from Lindsay the Frugal Crafter.  Since I’m out of canvases, I decided to go back to my watercolors.

This was part of a collaboration between Cinnamon, the Art Sherpa and Angela Anderson, Angelooney.  It was all about castles.  We painted Hogwarts, and a Fairytale Castle and now I’ve finished the three tutorials with this watercolor farmish-castle.

I adore castles.  LOVE them.  I really am in the mood to paint a few more…After my appointment this morning maybe I’ll grab some paper and make some sketches.

While watercolors are challenging, they are really delightful as well.  I find the way the paint flows and shifts around to be endlessly fascinating.  The blooms are delicious and the colors are quite vibrant.

This is a new brand of paper for me with this one.  I decided to shake things up a bit and just reached into my paper storage and pulled out whatever my hand landed on.  Turned out to be Union Square, 12 x 16. 140lb watercolor block, 10 sheets.  I had purchased this paper quite a while ago when it was seriously on sale at Jerry’s.

I really enjoyed this paper.  I have not painted on watercolor blocks before, and I really liked it.  The paper didn’t buckle and warp, I didn’t have to worry about taping the paper down to my board, I could just use it as it is.  Much more convenient.  I may be investing in more blocks, or I’ll just make my own.  Here’s a tutorial on how to do that from my favorite crafter, Lindsay.

 

This entry was posted in Cinnamon Cooney, theartsherpa, Daily Art, DIY, Frugal Ideas, Lindsay the Frugal Crafter, Make Your Own Supplies, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

