Color Mixes and Art Marketing

Every artist has a personal preference for their palette.  Mine is to never use actual black in a painting, as I think it deadens the work.  My most used chromatic black is Phthalo Blue, Alizarine  Crimson (Hue), and Raw Umber.  Another favorite is Ultramarine Blue and Burnt Umber or Prussian Blue and Burnt Sienna.  Phthalo Green and Alizarine Crimson will also give you a vibrant, rich chromatic black.

I use my basic chromatic black-Phthaylo Blue, Alizarine Crimson and Raw Umber-as the underpainting for much of my stone work.  By using a Chromatic Black, you have the richness of color without the flatness of a true black.  I used to use Payne’s Gray often in my paintings, until I realized most company’s use black to create it.  You can mix your own Payne’s Gray by using Ultramarine Blue and Burnt Sienna.  Add a touch of Zinc White to lighten.

Another way to get your colors to show to their best advantage is to varnish your finished painting.  I use Liquitex Gloss Medium and Varnish or Krylon Spray Varnish.  While this step is not the most fun part of making art, it is a very important one.  Please do not neglect it, your customers will thank you.

My current angst is gallery-wrap canvases.  I am looking for a good quality, reasonably priced, gallery-wrap.  I prefer them to the standard canvases you need to frame.  The frames cost a fortune and I don’t want to lose a sale because someone didn’t like a frame around a painting.  I’ll keep you posted on this search.

Fortunately, I did find something else I was looking for at Jerry’s Artarama.  Canvas panels.  These are perfect for my practice paintings.  Or as Jack White says:  Studies.  Another tool in my marketing my art arsenal.  These are used as a marketing device at tent shows.  Speaking of those…

While there is some cost involved with the set up for tent shows, it does seem to have great potential for sales.  In my research, I have found some of the more frugal options for set-up.  My husband is able to make anything, and would certainly be able to whip up the more expensive things needed for display.  I need to do more research, but I do like the idea of tent shows.

This entry was posted in Challenge, Frugal Ideas, Make Your Own Supplies, Product Reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

