Dear Friends

are something we should treasure and cherish.  I have many friends, but there is one I am speaking of specifically.  She began as a friend and ended up as family.

My friendship with Laurie began many years ago-I think it’s eighteen now-when we were both working on theatrical productions for our local highschool.  Laurie is our costumer and I was coming in to be the set designer/artist.  In the past 18 years, the two of us have done more than 200 shows both in school productions and community theatre as well.  We have worked with every theatre organization in our area, have been asked to work on shows in other communities and in other highschools, have participated in competitions and, in general, have made names for ourselves based upon the excellence of our work.  We have spent thousands of hours working together in that capacity.  Then we even started our own business, Putterbugs, which has nothing to do with theatre at all.

Laurie is the most creative, talented person I know.  She has the ability to look at something and decipher exactly how it was made and how she can tweak that.  I cannot think of one thing she isn’t brilliant at.  I mean, the woman even reupholsters furniture…

The joy Laurie’s friendship brings into my life is with without measure.  Just hearing her voice on the other end of the phone brightens up my day.  Her personality is uniquely warm and loving, with a quirky sense of humor thrown in.  I think she’s delightful in every way, and I adore her.

If you have a person like Laurie in your own life, how do you let them know how much they mean to you?  I never feel like I express myself well enough for Laurie to fully understand just how much she means to me.  She is such a special person, I want to make sure she knows how much I treasure and love her…

When I think of a way to communicate that effectively, I’ll let you know.  For now, I will just hope she understands my life is enhanced by her friendship.  My days have joy because she shares hers with me.  And I’m a better person because Laurie’s in my life.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

