Four Color Painting

Here is another daily painting.  It’s not finished-most of the ones I’ve posted are not complete.  They are the “sketch-ins” of the painting.  I find I prefer to do the rough-in first, then go back later to finish the details.  This is fairly easy as I use the same colors, for the most part, in every painting.  This one is made with just four colors:  Phthalo Blue, Quinacridone Magenta, Raw Umber and Titanium White.

Here is my usual warm and cool color palette:

Phthalo Blue and Ultramarine Blue

Alizarin Crimson and Cad Red Medium

Cad Yellow Light and Cad Yellow Medium

Titanium White, Yellow Ocher, Burnt Sienna and Raw Umber are also in my standard colors.  I mix my own greens, although I do have a couple in my drawer.  Waste of money, really.

This painting looks like it has several different colors in it.  I wish the picture showed the layers of colors in the steeple.  The beauty of using a limited palette is you have the opportunity to mix colors with abandon.  And with a warm and cool of each, there isn’t a color under the sun you can’t mix.

Suggestion for the day:  Limit the colors you use on your next painting to three or four.  See how many different colors you can make from your chosen few.  Paint using those colors.  You’ll be amazed at how well your painting harmonizes.  This improves your skill as a colorist and makes you a better artist.

 

 

This entry was posted in Daily Art, Frugal Ideas, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

