Making a Senkaric

Senkarik

Here is the Jack White (and his lovely wife Mikki Senkaric) way to mix paint.  Now they both use(d) oils.  I do not.  Jack mentioned in his book acrylics won’t mix the same as oils, but I went for it anyway.  I was able to create 211 paint mixes so far using nearly the same colors in acrylics.

The colors are:

Ultramarine Blue

Phthalo Blue

Alizarin Crimson

Cadmium Red Light

Cadmium Orange

Cadmium Yellow Medium

Hansa (Lemon) Yellow

Titanium White

Jack and Mikki use Ultramarine Blue and Alizarin Crimson combined to create their base color, MUD.  I also like to combine Phthalo Blue and Alizarin Crimson.  I’m not sure why, but I prefer Phthalo Blue to other blues I’ve used.  I substituted Cad Yellow Light for the Lemon Yellow because I don’t have lemon yellow.

Another suggestion, which may seem obvious to some, is put your colors in the same place on your palette every time.  My watercolor palettes are all set up the same way-in ROYGBIV color order, but not my acrylic palette.  For some reason, I always start with the earth colors across the top, then ROYGBIV backward.  Why, I have no idea, but there you have it.  I suppose as long as it is always the same, there isn’t a problem.  My standard acrylic palette has more colors than Jack and Mikki’s palettes, although I don’t use them all on the same painting.

That Jack came up with an expanded color palette all those years ago is really quite amazing.  As I am finding, the more I read his books, Jack White was a man with vision and ahead of his time.  I hope you have the opportunity to read his books.  They are really fantastic.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

