Today’s Abstract

IMG_0300

This is today’s abstract.  Based upon this tutorial by Cinnamon Cooney.

I used my favorite color, currently, Southern Ocean Blue. I used Golden’s High Flow Acrylics and Golden’s Absorbant Ground for the surface prep.  I also used Daler Rowney Pearlescent Acrylic Inks.  

My paint colors are:  Southern Ocean Blue, Australian Sienna, Quinacridone Nickel Azo Gold, Yellow Ochre, Titanium white and a touch of mars black to tone.  I used a palette knife, brushes, and dripping.  My canvas is a 16 x 20″ wrap.

I really like this one.

I enjoy the color contrast, the weight of the Southern Ocean Blue next to the earth tones.  I like the drippy inks.  I like having almost no white or black in the piece.  I like the roughness of the palette knife work compared to the smoothness of the drips.

Maybe I’ve fallen down the abstract rabbit hole…

This entry was posted in Art, Challenge, Cinnamon Cooney, theartsherpa, Daily Art, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

