Corrected Color Chart and Odds and Ends

Here is the corrected color chart using the colors I most often use.  The tutorial is from Clive5Art.

The four squares at the bottom of each column are:  The straight color, toned with raw umber, toned with the complimentary color, then with black to make the shade.

Every time I looked over at the chart it sort of set my teeth on edge because the 4 toned boxes were not beneath the color, but along side them.  This was unacceptable and I finally had time to fix it.  Even though I did not re-tape the squares off this time, I am satisfied with the way the chart turned out.  If perfect squares are important to you, please feel free to tape yours off.  It’s not that important to me, so I skipped it.

I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of a paint recipe book I ordered weeks ago.  I like the idea of having a ready-made book of recipes I can use as jump off points for more of my own recipes.  This, quite frankly, is becoming a bit of an obsession with me.

There, I said it.

Maybe I’m a frustrated chemist.  I just love adding this color, that color, then some of this and a touch of that…then the surprise of the colors that show up when I do that.  I love it.

My next project for the day will be watercolor cards.  I donated all mine to the youth group auction last month and need to make more.

Lindsay, the Frugal Crafter, just gave a great suggestion:  When using an art technique, use large tags or a journal and put that technique in there.  Add what materials you used, how you did it, any information relevant to the technique and the results.  If you make a tag, add them to a ring and keep near your work space.  If it’s in a journal, make sure it’s a dedicated techniques journal and keep it close to your work desk for reference.

This is a brilliant idea, as I often purchase materials for a project and then forget what I bought them for.  If I use the techniques on a tag or in a journal, I’ll have the materials list and instructions right there no matter when I get to the project.  Leave it to Lindsay to come up with these great ideas.  I just think she’s a genius.

This entry was posted in DIY, Lindsay the Frugal Crafter, Make Your Own Supplies, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

