About Face, the Big Art Quest

Cinnamon Cooney, the Art Sherpa, is teaching about faces.  Here’s my second About Face painting, Quest #2.

I was able to access Cinnamon’s tutorial on the drawing of faces.  For some reason I was not able to get the video to play before this morning.  I prefer this painting to the one I did before.  I really learned a lot about sketching faces from her tutorial, which made a huge difference in my Believe face.

I’m not sure why this is, because anything you draw is just a series of shapes, I am intimidated by portraiture.  This is obviously a fantasy face, but I was still intimidated by the thought of making it.

Cinnamon talks about “just giving people their crayons back” when she talks about creating.  Allowing people the freedom to create just for the joy of it rather than focusing on the end results.  What a gift that is!  How many of us have hang ups from something someone said to us when we were a kid?  Something cruel or unnecessary or untrue?

Somewhere along the way I became scared of faces.  I don’t know when or why, but there you have it.

There was an English teacher I had in 10th grade.  I had been writing short stories for years and years by that time and really enjoyed it.  This particular teacher was struggling in her own life, I found out years later, and was not at her best.  I turned in a short story writing assignment and received a lousy grade on it.  I was a straight A student and was naturally confused by the mark.  I went to her and asked where I needed to improve.

She said I needed talent.

At that time I was pretty sure I wanted to be a writer.  I was working on my third novel-a trilogy-and it was nearly complete.  I had written children’s books and a play.

This comment crushed any desire I had to be a writer.  I was taken aback by the harshness of the comment, but figured she knew better than I did what talent looked like and I didn’t have any.

I put my novel away, along with all the other stuff I wrote, and moved on to something else.

But I pulled everything back out the following year when I was no longer in her class.  I went back to writing and actually wrote several more books.  The reality is, however, I have never had the courage to see if they are publishable.

Maybe they really are the worst thing ever written.

An abomination.

Maybe the editor will read it, set fire to it and send home the ashes of my manuscript because it’s that horrible.

This is what taking someone’s crayons away looks like.

Through Cinnamon’s tutorials and her positive approach to life, I have the courage to create another novel.

And this time I’ll be sending it off, out into the world, to sink or swim.

Has someone taken away your crayons?  Is there something you always wanted to do but someone said something and crushed that desire into dust?

Okay.

Forget them.

Who says their opinion is the right one?  Who gave them the power to crush a dream?  Well, we do if we stop what we love to do because of that comment.

There is a quote I saw recently:

“Don’t give a temporary person a permanent place in your life.”

There are people who come and go in our lives.  Some for the better.  Some not.  But to give these temporary people permanent input into our lives is foolish.  We are the only ones who can make permanent decisions about our lives and how we live it.  We should not turn over that decision making to anyone else.

Come on my friends, let go of what is holding you back.  Get out there and live your life.  Tell the doubters and the haters to kiss it and move on.

Take back your crayons.

This entry was posted in Art Quest, Cinnamon Cooney, theartsherpa, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

