While I Know Writing

is a creative outlet, it’s not nearly as satisfying as throwing paint around.

I have spent the last couple of days working on my latest book.  I have been drowning in research and information.  The actual writing I’ve done will all have to be pitched, as I have started a new method for creating a novel.

Well, it’s new to me anyway.  It’s called the Snowflake Method.  Perhaps this is a well known way to write a novel, but this is the first I’ve heard of it.  I must admit I’ve made more progress today than I have in the several days prior to this.  The process is step by step with wonderful insights into developing your story and the structure of the novel.

When I have completed the 10 step process, I will be nearly finished with the book.  According to reports this method can shave 150 hours of work from the process, with better results.

And I’m all for better results.

Even in the short time I’ve been working on my novel using these steps, I can already see a difference in the quality of material I’m generating.  I am particularly enjoying the character development, which can be challenging if you’re doing most of it while writing the actual book.

It’s like deciding you’re going on vacation.  You know the direction you’re headed, but that’s about it.  You have no specific road map to your destination, just a vague idea of where you want to be.   So you jump in the car.  You begin driving, taking which ever twisty road looks good to you.  Suddenly you find yourself in the middle of a desert, overheated and without water.  This is not where you wanted to be, you aren’t sure how you got there and now you have to back-track until you find something familiar you recognize.

Seriously.  I have done exactly that with my writing more times than I can count.  I begin with a wonderful idea (at least I think so) and just jump right in there.  I am always heavy on the research, give some thought to my characters but know I’ll flesh them out as I write, and I have the plot in mind.  Then it’s just a chaotic, bumpy ride to the end…

There are three or four novels over there which are partially completed, but I have lost all desire to finish.  Mostly due to the loss of the main point of the story, which has become a giant mess of useless blather.

This serves no one.

By following these simple steps, my work is much more organized.  I can quickly see if there are problems with the story before pouring countless hours of work into it.  Corrections are easily made and implemented.

Who knows, maybe you’re reading the blog of the next J.K. Rowling.

Okay, that’s hysterical.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

