Fun Art Journaling Idea!

My girl, Lindsay, the Frugal Crafter, did it again!  She came up with a brilliant idea for art journal pages, scrapbook pages, cards, multi-media art work, or just as they are:  painted book pages!

I have mentioned I was given an old set of encyclopedias.  I am using the book pages for many art journaling projects.  Lindsay Mod Podged her book pages and painted an acrylic image on the dried pages.  I purchased several 2 oz. bottles of Mod Podge at the Dollar Tree, some in gloss and some in matte finishes, for my Bible Journaling class kits.  (I bought 3 times the amount needed for my classes.  I was purchasing the supplies for the kits before I actually had the class sign-up details.) So I grabbed a 2 oz. bottle of matte finish, mod podged several pages, and let them dry overnight.

Using a few of Lindsay’s ideas and a seed catalog that came in the mail two days ago, I painted several different flowers on the pages.  On one, I painted mini-pumpkins in all sorts of unexpected colors as a practice for tonal ranges. I painted 11 pages of  flowers, pumpkins and leaves.

This was a quick and easy way to use up the left over paint in my Sta-Wet palette, and wonderful for sketching images with a paint brush, shading, tonal studies and just general painting practice.  These small paintings will work well in all sorts of multi-media applications.  I’m mod podging a couple of them to a box which will sit on my work table and hold my most used glues and adhesives.

If you need a small project, something to kick-start your creativity, this is a good one.  Quick, simple, cheap and fun!  What more could we ask for?

 

 

This entry was posted in Challenge, DIY, Free Stuff, Frugal Ideas, Lindsay the Frugal Crafter, Make Your Own Supplies, Recyclable items, Stash Busters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

