Here’s How It Looks

I made this quick picture from one of Lindsay, the Frugal Crafter’s tutorials.

Above the picture, you can see the supplies I used.  I used SMI stick chalk pastels, cheap eye shadows and Master’s Touch Pastel pencils.  I made the picture in my art journal, which is a Strathmore Visual Journal from Dick Blick.

These journals are also available at Hobby Lobby and Michaels, often go on sale and are my favorite art journals.  I have used both the watercolor journal and the mixed media journal.  I prefer the watercolor journals.  They are sturdy, well made and the pages are not perforated.  I hate having pages fall out of things, which can sometimes happen with journals with perforated pages.  In this particular art journal I have used acrylic paints, watercolor paints, wet glue, spray inks, embossing powders, pastels, modeling paste, markers, glued down papers, metalics, layers of ephemera, stickers, die cuts, and stamps.  Everything works well in this journal.  It has held up beautifully, no matter what I throw at it.

Back to the eye shadow as pan pastels:  I enjoyed the experience of using tools with the medium.  As I mentioned earlier, I don’t care for the feel of the chalky sticks in my hands.  This is eliminated by the use of tools.  I did find I could rub the tools over the pastel sticks and grab some color that way.  I could also wet the pastel sticks for another option.  The actual use of eye shadow fell short for me, as the colors were not rich and vibrant compared to the pastel sticks.  Nevertheless, it was an enjoyable experience using the tools and eye shadows.  Since I have enjoyed using the stick pastels, I really didn’t expect to dislike working with the pans of eye shadow.

So my opinion is this:  I will continue using my inexpensive stick chalk pastels until I use them up.  Once I use them up completely, I should be experienced enough with the medium to be able to take the plunge and buy the expensive pan pastels if I continue to enjoy it.

This entry was posted in Challenge, DIY, Frugal Ideas, Lindsay the Frugal Crafter, Make Your Own Supplies, Product Reviews, Stash Busters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

