Almost Free Decor

Yesterday I spent my day creating an egg carton wreath.

The materials, which came from empty cardboard egg cartons and paper left over from my parents move, cost nothing. I used a dollar store piece of foam core for the base of the wreath, some craft paint left over from other projects, and hot glue.

My estimate is I spent less than 5 dollars on this project.

Long ago, I began making paper flowers of all kinds. I have made stunning flowers from coffee filters, scrapbook paper, newspaper, old book pages and junk mail. I also made many egg carton flowers, which are fun and charming. I’ve been saving egg cartons for a couple of years, and had a tote labeled “egg carton flowers”.  I assumed I had made so many of them, I needed a tote to hold them all.

No.  The tote was filled with the cartons, not completed flowers.

So yesterday I spent the day making a couple hundred egg carton flowers. (This was excessive, and I would recommend making a couple dozen at a time.)  I used the cheap bottles of craft paint to paint several flowers in muted colors.  Yellow, pink, lavendar, white and rose. While they dried, I made the wreath base from foam core.  I stuffed the shape with packing paper and then wrapped the wreath in brown craft paper.

I attached the dried flowers to the wreath shape, trying to scatter the painted flowers randomly through out the wreath.  I found the painted flowers to be to prominate in the completed wreath so I used beige to soften them.  Now they are very muted in the overall design and I am very happy with the result.

My goal is to make the house look like a Joanna Gaines finished fixer-upper.

Only on a seriously limited budget.

Which means I’ll be sharing many more frugal projects and ideas with you in the weeks and months to come.

 

 

This entry was posted in Challenge, DIY, Free Stuff, Frugal Ideas, Make Your Own Supplies, Recyclable items, Stash Busters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Almost Free Decor

  1. Pingback: Get To Know Your Supplies: Foam Core | purplewhimsie

Leave a Reply

