Was Doing Great, Until…

I ripped out both of my kidney stints.

Tuesday afternoon I had surgery to remove 10 stones from my left kidney and 5 stones from my right one.  I decided I would come home, rather than stay in the hospital.  All was going well until yesterday afternoon, when I thought a shower would feel great.

I lathered up a huge, fluffy washcloth and used it.  While washing that area, the string connected to the stints in each kidney tangled in the washcloth.  Before I even knew there was a problem, I had pulled both stints out of the kidneys with the washcloth.

And now there is pain.

Actual pain.

Before it was an aching, throbbing feeling with burning during urination.  Now it is quite a bit more than that.  I have actually topped out on the amount of pain meds they gave me, and the pain is not reduced by much.  I am concerned, as today is Friday, about the weekend and if I should request stronger medication…

So far I am not running a fever, but the pain is far more than I would think is normal at this stage of the game.  I am at a loss as to what to do about this, and I am really angry with myself because I ripped them both out.  I have a vague memory of the nurse telling me I would need to remove the stints on Monday, but I had no idea the stuff was so delicate.  Had I known that I would not have washed with a washcloth, only used water running gently over the area in question.

Right now I feel like crap.

I hope your day is going much better than mine is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

