Livin’ Small

My husband has decided he would like to sell our home and build a large barn with a tiny house in it.

This is a lovely idea, in my opinion, because we actually use very little of our house.  He spends his time in the garage, working on cars and projects.  I spend my time in my own work room, which as you know if you’ve read my blog, is a bit snug.

So I have been sketching plans for this barn idea of his.  My current plan is shaped like the barn above.  The center portion would be our house, with kitchen, laundry room, great room and would include the loft master bedroom and master bath. There will be a fireplace, large closet and pantry off the kitchen as well.  I drew the kitchen as a U shape with the shortest piece holding the sink and dishwasher, with the front part of that countertop elevated to be a bar for our dining area.  This divides the kitchen/laundry area from the livingroom space.  There is a wider than normal stairway up to the loft area. Should I lose my ability to get up and down steps, we will be able to add one of those haul-your-butt-up-stairs chairs.

The section on the left, which would be open to the living space, will be my studio.  It will include a full bathroom with a large slop sink, two sliders (or French Doors) to the deck outside, a place for my paints and easels, storage cupboards and countertops, a desk/computer area, two large closets, a drying/display area for my canvases, and dedicated space for my most often used tools and projects.  I have included two rolling tables which can be opened up on the ends and pushed together to seat 14 people.  This will double as work tables/classroom space and seating for our family when we all get together for dinner or holidays.

To the right of the living space will be the family garage.  I designed it so it is long, one car will drive in from the front of it, the second garage door will open from the side of the garage, so the cars will be parked like a “T”.  There is a door from the garage into the house.  At the end of the garage is a door which opens into the dream garage for Scott.  It can be as large as he wants it to be, going back hundreds of feet for all I care.  The space directly behind my studio will hold our woodshop, as we both do some woodworking and need the space.  There is also a very large storage closet and an area for my canvases and paper.

Because the barn is tall in the center section, there will also be a great deal of storage up there in the garage section of the barn.  Scott could use it for an office, we could put in a studio apartment, the options are endless.  But the whole point of this is to create a space perfect for his needs and mine as well.

Since property is cheaper with a small house already on it, our plan is to purchase the property with the house, live in the house while we build the barn/house, then have Erin and the kids live in the house when we move to the barn.  This gives her space and yet we are very close by, should she need anything.

That’s the plan anyway.  We will have to see how it comes together.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

