Abstract Painting

I am taking on line art courses.  The challenge for this assignment was to create an abstract painting.

The last few days have been sort of rough for me, emotionally.  My brother, Jeff, passed away in January.  Very suddenly, completely unexpected.  The last few days have been tough “Jeff days” for me.  I don’t know why or what triggered the weepies, but I have been pretty blue.

So here comes this challenge.  Create an abstract painting.  Which I have never done, nor even attempted.  The instructions were to get in touch with your emotions.  Paint from the gut.

Here’s what I painted:

20160920_192118

 

I have named it “Sorrow”.  The lower part of the painting is what life was like before Jeff died.  The top part of the painting is what happened with his passing.  Like darkness poured down upon me, smothering everything that was.

My daughter thought it looked like hell.  The flames coming up, and darkness all around…My friend, Suzanne-who is the person who taught me how to paint all those years ago-thought it should be placed into Art Prize, which is going on in Grand Rapids right now.

That is the best compliment I have ever received in my entire life, bar none!

That she thinks it’s good enough for that sort of competition, well, it just blows my mind.

And I have no idea if it’s any good or not.  It just came out that way, purely emotion.  No thought to the form or structure or movement or any design rules that should be applied to abstract art.

It simply is what I felt at that time.

I doubt I would have painted anything like that last week, before the weepies hit me again.  But the challenge came at a sad time, so sad is what I painted.

I’ll have to give abstract another shot.

Later.

This entry was posted in Art, Cinnamon Cooney, theartsherpa, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Abstract Painting

  1. Pingback: Abstract Painting — purplewhimsie | Magikal Journeys Art Studio

Leave a Reply

