Busy, Busy, Busy!

This has been a very busy couple of weeks for me.  I am helping a friend with a fundraiser, I am sorting and pricing stuff for the massive garage sale we are having tomorrow and Sunday, I am organizing my workroom-getting rid of lots of stuff, and I have been painting daily.

These things are great, but I feel summer has passed me by.  It began with moving my parents into their new home, and now it’s the end of August…Where did the time go?

Organization tips:

Make sure you have the space to put stuff before you move all the stuff into the space which turns out to be far to small for your plan.  This forces you to re-do your organizational plan, move everything again, and is a gigantic pain in the backside.  Learn from my mistakes people!

Books are wonderful, but take up a tremendous amount of space.  Better to keep those books which are special to you and get rid of the rest.  Read on your tablet or Kindle, which take up almost no space and will hold an entire library of books.

Your local high school’s theatre program might be very interested in your stuff.  Things like sewing patterns, fabric, furniture, household items like curtains and tablecloths, non-breakable dishes and glasses, etc. are all items used often.  Make sure you check with the school before you donate your stuff-they may not have the storage needed for these things.

Another idea is to donate your latex paint to the theatre dept.  You would be amazed at the amount of paint needed to paint sets and props.  I recommend donating only water-based materials, as it took me years to get all of the oil-based paints out of our scene shop.  If you have oil-based paints and solvents you can donate them to Habitat for Humanity stores in your area.

This entry was posted in Challenge, Frugal Ideas, Organization, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

