Quick DIY Stay Wet Palette

I have been creating acrylic paintings like a fiend.  I am, on average, making 3 16 x 20 acrylic paintings per day.  I am trying to find a way to use a wet-palette for my acrylics, as I am using up tons of paint each day.

Clive5art is an artist I really enjoy on You Tube.  He has a wet palette he uses, which is metal.  Here’s where the idea came from, as I have never used a wet palette before.

I have plastic boxes which hold 12×12 scrapbook papers.  They open up, but I have them in a storage container, which makes the tops frustrating for me.  I have removed them.  This removed top is what I used this morning to make the wet palette.

I would recommend using a cheap, disposable food storage box which you can pick up at the Dollar Tree for a buck.  I didn’t have one available today, so I used what I did have.

Cheap chamois-type cloths are available at the Dollar Tree as well.  It is called the Hardware + Mechanics Shammy.  I used this, cut to fit my plastic top.  I moistened this with distilled water.  On top of this I added parchment paper, also from the Dollar Tree.  My box top is larger than my paper, so I just put on two sheets and overlapped them.  I sprayed them lightly with my spray bottle of distilled water to moisten them before I added my paint.

Then I added my paint and created the ballet shoes, which is Cinnamon Cooney’s original design.  I am creating all these paintings for a fund raiser for one of my theatre kids who has been in a horrific accident.  She broke both legs, both ankles and 3 or 4 vertebrae in her back.  I contacted Cinnamon and asked permission to use her original designs for this purpose.  She was very gracious and agreed enthusiastically!

Here are some of the paintings I have made so far:

20160806_201325

Tardis, theartsherpa original design

20160822_104633

Red Riding Hood, theartsherpa original design

I will only sell those paintings, which are not my original designs, with the permission of the original artist.  I will not use anyone’s designs and sell them without permission.  Just so you know.

This is one thing that I find very important.  Respecting the work of artists.  They make a huge effort to create their original artwork and it is just flat-out wrong to take their designs and then sell it for profit.  (In my case I am selling these things for charity, but you take my meaning here.)  Please, when you are painting something from a you-tube video or from something you have seen on-line, do not sell that art work unless you have permission to do so.  This should go without saying, but it happens all the time.

I have to say I enjoy spatter painting.  This is a technique I have used many times, but never as an art piece.  I found I enjoyed the freedom and randomness of the technique and hope to continue creating more pieces this way.  I will share my original designs and art work with you, as well as the pieces I have been creating for the fund raiser.

Please share any of your art work here as well.  We are a creative group and encouraging each other in our art journey is a good thing.

Have a creative and blessed day!

This entry was posted in Art, Challenge, Cinnamon Cooney, theartsherpa, DIY, Frugal Ideas, Make Your Own Supplies, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick DIY Stay Wet Palette

  1. Pingback: DIY Stay Wet Palette Update | purplewhimsie

Leave a Reply

