Tornado!

As I was coming home from theatre camp, there was a huge storm rolling in.  As I was driving I noticed really odd looking sky.  I was actually saying out loud to myself,”That looks really bad…”

As the words were still hanging in the air, the sky shifted.

Hail hit my windshield.  Wet soppy balls of slush.

One part of the sky began moving one way, the other part-a completely different color-began turning in the other direction.  Before my eyes I watched a tornado form.

It was not a huge funnel cloud, but it was definitely a funnel cloud.

A moving, twisting funnel.

I don’t know what happened with the funnel after I saw it form.  I just knew I had to get home to my kids and turned off that road.

I raced home, driving through some funky weather.  In one spot all the trees where whipping around like crazy, not an eighth of a mile later-calm and absolutely silent.

We did have quite a storm out of the thing, but almost no precipitation.  Just wild winds, limbs down, that sort of thing.

And it was over in 20 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

