Jumpstart Creativity

Creativity seems to go in spurts for me.  I am crazy-creative for a time period, then it seems it all drys up and I have absolutely no ideas, no ambition, no creative juices flowing at all.  Dry as the Sahara Desert, I tell ya!

So I have a couple suggestions, should this happen to you.

I made some cards with ideas for things to do.  I have created 200 separate and unique ideas on 2 1/2 by 3 1/2 sized cards.  Each one is a technique or suggestion for a jump-off point to get me going.  Just a few ideas I had, during a very creative time when ideas are tumbling out one right after the other, for those times when I cannot think of what to do.

Keep a notebook or journal with you at all times.  I have one I carry with me in my purse, and it sits here with me as I work.  When an idea I don’t have time for now comes to me, I write it down/sketch it out.

This particular book has plain paper, lined paper and graph paper included in it.  I have the sketches with sizes, details I want to include in the project, possible materials to use, colors, anything that is important to the project that I will likely forget.  So, pretty much everything is written down in detail for me.  You may not need details, just a few words might work for you.

I have a Pinterest page where I have put a bunch of pictures of things I like.  If I like it, I throw it in there.  This is to spark my creativity when I can’t think of anything.  I will look through those pictures and try to figure out exactly why that piece spoke to me.  What was it about that particular artwork that drew me in?  Can I create something using that technique, or color or material?

Sometimes I just clean my workroom.  I re-organize, try to find additional storage, etc.  In that process I usually come across a material or product I haven’t used in awhile, something I forgot I had, something that inspires me to make something.  This is always my last resort, as I mentioned, I have storage issues.  To clean means to make a bigger mess before it gets better.  And to be perfectly honest here, I don’t think I can squeeze another inch of storage from this space.

Okay, maybe an inch or two…

 

This entry was posted in Challenge, DIY, Frugal Ideas, Organization, Stash Busters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

